As I sit in my room, writing this post, I am watching the Elite Eight matchup between South Carolina and Florida. One important note, this is the MENS bracket, not the women’s.

Let me start out by saying that I am a big, big sports fan. I watch just about every sport, and I do so as much as I can. From little league to the major leagues, I watch it all. But the thing is, I can only watch it if the game is on.

Lets look at this month alone, the sports famous month of March. For those of you that don’t watch sports very much, March is the month that ends the college basketball season for most teams. It is when the playoffs are played, and as indicated by the name, it is madness!

The best teams in the nation match up and play until there is just one champion. This happens with both the men’s program and with the women’s. However, unless you are a sports fan, you might not know that.

If you turn on the TV or look on social media, there is a very good chance that you will see something about the men’s bracket. It might be who one a certain big game, or how someone’s bracket is busted, or it might even be a game. Some of the games are played right on CBS.

The women’s bracket, on the other hand, gets very little attention. I know that they are playing the Sweet Sixteen and Elite Eight games this weekend, and that UConn is still in it, but other than that, I don’t even know anything about it.

I watched one game online at the beginning of the tournament, but other than that, I couldn’t even find a game to watch.

When people tell me that men and women are looked at equally in society today, this is one of my go to points. The men’s bracket is on the front page, everyone knows what is happening and who is winning. The women’s bracket is on the back burner, hidden to the public. If that is equality, someone needs no explain it to me.

I have had people tell me that it is because the women’s games aren’t as exciting, that they aren’t competitive. I can think of at least five games alone in the tournament this year alone, in the men’s bracket that there was at least a fifteen-point win, and even more that were not close at all. Is that supposed to be competitive? Is that the reason we are watching the men’s bracket?

No, it is because there is not equality in the world of madness, whether or not people want to believe it. And I, unfortunately don’t see that changing any time soon.

Photo credits to Jason Dean. To see more of his work, visit his site here. Note that this is not this year’s bracket.

