Tuesday, April 4, 2017, Equal Pay Day.

In other words, it was the day that women had finally made as much this year and last year as men made last year.

The difference isn’t a couple of days, it isn’t even just a month, no. It took over four months for women to make up the difference in wages.

The day isn’t always the same, it all depends on what the wage gap was the year before. Last year, women only made 79% of what men did. But that is not always the case.

We are starting to make some progress though. In 2005, which was twelve years ago (even though it does not seem that long ago), Equal Pay Day wasn’t until April 19th.

I had the chance to ask a bunch of different female freshmen students what they thought about the day, and I got all kinds of different answers.

The first person that I asked had no clue what equal pay day was. So I explained to her that it was the day when women finally made the same that men did the year before. She didn’t know that men and women didn’t make the same amount of money in a year. Let me repeat that SHE DIDN’T EVEN KNOW THERE IS A WAGE GAP.

That is part of the problem, not only is it happening, but some people don’t know about it.

Another person told me that they were so glad that I walk talking about Equal Pay Day. She knew what it was but not that it was that day.

The very next person that I talked to didn’t even answer my question, she just pointed to a button on her collar, it was an equal sign, with a large red line through it. She pointed to that button and we both knew that is all there is to it.

Then there was the final person I talked to. She didn’t know what Equal Pay Day was either, but when i explained it, she asked, “What can I do to help?”

Let me tell all of you what i told her. Educate yourself. Then educate others. Don’t be silent. Don’t sit by and let it happen. Work hard, deserve equal pay, demand equal pay!

